Teresa Waterman Pesce

Profile Updated: November 26, 2013
Class of 1968
Residing In: Sandpoint, ID USA
Homepage: sandpointonstage.com
Spouse/Partner: Jimmy
Children, Grandchildren: Jimmy Jr., Brent & Tyler - all adults. Grandchildren, Anthony (5), Jacob (2), Jason (18), Chris (16), More…Megan (17)
Occupation: Copywriter
Facebook Name, Page, and/or other related links you like:

Teresa Pesce
Sandpoint Onstage

Occupation/Career(s) Details:

I'm a copywriter for tri-channel retailers. My current employer is Coldwater Creek which is a grand place to work, complete with a spa & fitness center. Which isn't to imply that I am fit. But I CAN write!

My concurrent career is Sandpoint Onstage. It's a theatre production company I founded in 2009, and you can see what we're up to at sandpointonstage.com. It's tremendous fun, with as much drama going on backstage as onstage. I am also a playwright- I can't even express how much I love that - and a director, which is an experience I value above all others. Working with actors is amazing. I've written more than 10 plays, and even won one award! I'm now interested in producing plays from budding playwrights, and am starting with Canadian playwright Michael Wilmot.

Different places I have lived:

After graduation, I attended UCSB and stayed in Santa Barbara for 10 years. Then my husband and I moved a bit further north to the town of San Luis Obispo. Both are friendly, smaller towns with a great deal of theatre and art going on. Then my husband wanted to return to Idaho, and it sounded like a grand adventure so I gave notice, and we made the leap! I wasn't scared, I was excited, and the whole thing was an excellent choice. We have the four seasons here, each beautiful in its way, a community of the friendliest most supportive people anywhere (Sandpoint), and I never want to leave.

Family history living in South Pasadena:

My parents wanted to get away from the Los Angeles area, so they chose South Pasadena. The new houses were expensive so their realtor took them to an older house - a mansion, really - on Buena Vista Street. It was the family home of a multi-acre dairy at one time. It was elegant, gorgeous with soaring staircases, and scary as hell at night with creaks galore. But alas, we aren't a multi-generational SP family - we relocated to Santa Barbara when I graduated and none of us returned. My dad was a professor at USC for 20 years until he transferred to UCSB, where he stayed until his retirement. I moved on and so did my brother John, also a SPHS graduate, of 1964.

Family members who also went to SPHS:

Just one - my brother John, a 1964 graduate.

Other SPHS graduates I keep in touch with:

I tried to keep in touch with Claudia Barnhart, but with four daughters and a beautiful mother still gorgeous at age 90, plus a busy career as a nurse, she isn't much available for that sort of thing.

School Memories:

Unfortunately, my parents moved when I was in ninth grade and I missed SP more than I can say. But I came back in my senior year, hung out with Claudia, had a really sweet boyfriend, was in some plays and in general had a great senior year!

Organizations, clubs, sports groups, and other groups I (did or do) participate in (in high school and/or now):

Not a big joiner, I guess. Just the French and drama clubs in high school.

I enjoyed being part of a writer's group and a book group here in Sandpoint, but then started my own company and invested myself in that.

Milestones & Epiphanies:

First job - a writer for the Herald Examiner. Best memories of that - getting my articles published! Worst memories of that - getting cornered on staircases by horny editors. They didn't call it sexual harassment in those days - they called it par for the course.

Songs published at MCA - my producer was Duane Eddy. (50s icon)

Marriage - I encourage all women to marry Italians.
Amazing step-children.

Leaving the always-perfect California weather to move to Idaho, with pine trees and lakes and four seasons.

My own theatre production company. Realizing I could write and direct plays. Who knew!

[Date] What's happening in my life now:

We just set the new season for our theatre company.

Raising older grandchildren to launch into the world, helping younger ones to learn to read.

Enjoying being married to my beautiful Jimmy James.

Pastimes & Hobbies:


Favorite Music, Songs, Bands

I'm a dinosaur in my music preferences, I'm afraid. I like the Celtic women's group ... does that count?

Favorite Books, Magazines, Movies, TV etc:

New Yorker magazine ... anything BBC ... Pulitzer Prize novels ... modern mystery writers ... old mystery writers ...

Teresa's Latest Interactions

May 13, 2021 at 1:33 AM
May 13, 2020 at 1:33 AM
May 13, 2019 at 1:33 AM
May 13, 2018 at 1:33 AM
May 13, 2017 at 1:33 AM
May 13, 2016 at 1:33 AM
May 13, 2015 at 1:34 AM
Posted: Dec 16, 2013 at 9:30 PM